依赖预构建

当你首次启动 vite 时,你可能会注意到打印出了以下信息:

Optimizable dependencies detected: (侦测到可优化的依赖:)
react, react-dom
Pre-bundling them to speed up dev server page load...(将预构建它们以提升开发服务器页面加载速度)
(this will be run only when your dependencies have changed)(这将只会在你的依赖发生变化时执行)

原因

这就是 Vite 执行的所谓的“依赖预构建”。这个过程有两个目的:

  1. CommonJS 和 UMD 兼容性: 开发阶段中,Vite 的开发服务器将所有代码视为原生 ES 模块。因此,Vite 必须先将作为 CommonJS 或 UMD 发布的依赖项转换为 ESM。

    当转换 CommonJS 依赖时,Vite 会执行智能导入分析,这样即使导出是动态分配的(如 React),按名导入也会符合预期效果:

    // 符合预期
    import React, { useState } from 'react'
    
  2. 性能: Vite 将有许多内部模块的 ESM 依赖关系转换为单个模块,以提高后续页面加载性能。

    一些包将它们的 ES 模块构建作为许多单独的文件相互导入。例如,lodash-es 有超过 600 个内置模块!当我们执行 import { debounce } from 'lodash-es' 时,浏览器同时发出 600 多个 HTTP 请求!尽管服务器在处理这些请求时没有问题,但大量的请求会在浏览器端造成网络拥塞,导致页面的加载速度相当慢。

    通过预构建 lodash-es 成为一个模块,我们就只需要一个 HTTP 请求了!

自动依赖搜寻

如果没有找到相应的缓存,Vite 将抓取你的源码,并自动寻找引入的依赖项(即 "bare import",表示期望从 node_modules 解析),并将这些依赖项作为预构建包的入口点。预构建通过 esbuild 执行,所以它通常非常快。

在服务器已经启动之后,如果遇到一个新的依赖关系导入,而这个依赖关系还没有在缓存中,Vite 将重新运行依赖构建进程并重新加载页面。

Monorepo 和链接依赖

在一个 monorepo 启动中,该仓库中的某个依赖可能会成为另一个包的依赖。Vite 会自动侦测没有从 node_modules 解析的依赖项,并将链接的依赖视为源码。它不会尝试打包被链接的依赖,而是会分析被链接依赖的依赖列表。

自定义行为

默认的依赖项发现为启发式可能并不总是可取的。在你想要显式地从列表中包含/排除依赖项的情况下, 请使用 optimizeDeps 配置项

一个典型的用例对 optimizeDeps.includeoptimizeDeps.exclude 是当你有一个不能直接在源码中发现的导入时。例如,导入可能是插件转换的结果。这意味着 Vite 无法在初始扫描时发现导入 —— 它只能在浏览器请求文件并进行转换后发现它。这将导致服务器在启动后立即重新打包。

includeexclude 都可以用来处理这个问题。如果依赖项很大(包含很多内部模块)或者是 CommonJS,那么你应该包含它;如果依赖项很小,并且已经是有效的 ESM,则可以排除它,让浏览器直接加载它。

缓存

文件系统缓存

Vite 会将预构建的依赖缓存到 node_modules/.vite。它根据几个源来决定是否需要重新运行预构建步骤:

  • package.json 中的 dependencies 列表
  • 包管理器的 lockfile,例如 package-lock.json, yarn.lock,或者 pnpm-lock.yaml
  • 可能在 vite.config.js 相关字段中配置过的

只有当上面的一个步骤发生变化时,才需要重新运行预构建步骤。

如果出于某些原因,你想要强制 Vite 重新绑定依赖,你可以用 --force 命令行选项启动开发服务器,或者手动删除 node_modules/.vite 目录。

浏览器缓存

解析后的依赖请求会以 HTTP 头 max-age=31536000,immutable 强缓存,以提高在开发时的页面重载性能。一旦被缓存,这些请求将永远不会再到达开发服务器。如果安装了不同的版本(这反映在包管理器的 lockfile 中),则附加的版本 query 会自动使它们失效。如果你想通过本地编辑来调试依赖项,你可以:

  1. 通过浏览器 devtools 的 Network 选项卡暂时禁用缓存;
  2. 重启 Vite dev server,使用 --force 标志重新打包依赖;
  3. 重新载入页面。

Dependency Pre-Bundling

When you run vite for the first time, you may notice this message:

Optimizable dependencies detected:
react, react-dom
Pre-bundling them to speed up dev server page load...
(this will be run only when your dependencies have changed)

The Why

This is Vite performing what we call "dependency pre-bundling". This process serves two purposes:

  1. CommonJS and UMD compatibility: During development, Vite's dev serves all code as native ESM. Therefore, Vite must convert dependencies that are shipped as CommonJS or UMD into ESM first.

    When converting CommonJS dependencies, Vite performs smart import analysis so that named imports to CommonJS modules will work as expected even if the exports are dynamically assigned (e.g. React):

    // works as expected
    import React, { useState } from 'react'
    
  2. Performance: Vite converts ESM dependencies with many internal modules into a single module to improve subsequent page load performance.

    Some packages ship their ES modules builds as many separate files importing one another. For example, lodash-es has over 600 internal modules! When we do import { debounce } from 'lodash-es', the browser fires off 600+ HTTP requests at the same time! Even though the server has no problem handling them, the large amount of requests create a network congestion on the browser side, causing the page to load noticeably slower.

    By pre-bundling lodash-es into a single module, we now only need one HTTP request instead!

Automatic Dependency Discovery

If an existing cache is not found, Vite will crawl your source code and automatically discover dependency imports (i.e. "bare imports" that expect to be resolved from node_modules) and use these found imports as entry points for the pre-bundle. The pre-bundling is performed with esbuild so it's typically very fast.

After the server has already started, if a new dependency import is encountered that isn't already in the cache, Vite will re-run the dep bundling process and reload the page.

Monorepos and Linked Dependencies

In a monorepo setup, a dependency may be a linked package from the same repo. Vite automatically detects dependencies that are not resolved from node_modules and treats the linked dep as source code. It will not attempt to bundle the linked dep, and instead will analyze the linked dep's dependency list instead.

Customizing the Behavior

The default dependency discovery heuristics may not always be desirable. In cases where you want to explicitly include/exclude dependencies from the list, use the optimizeDeps config options.

A typical use case for optimizeDeps.include or optimizeDeps.exclude is when you have an import that is not directly discoverable in the source code. For example, maybe the import is created as a result of a plugin transform. This means Vite won't be able to discover the import on the initial scan - it can only discover it after the file is requested by the browser and transformed. This will cause the server to immediately re-bundle after server start.

Both include and exclude can be used to deal with this. If the dependency is large (with many internal modules) or is CommonJS, then you should include it; If the dependency is small and is already valid ESM, you can exclude it and let the browser load it directly.

Caching

File System Cache

Vite caches the pre-bundled dependencies in node_modules/.vite. It determines whether it needs to re-run the pre-bundling step based on a few sources:

  • The dependencies list in your package.json
  • Package manager lockfiles, e.g. package-lock.json, yarn.lock, or pnpm-lock.yaml.
  • Relevant fields in your vite.config.js, if present.

The pre-bundling step will only need to be re-run when one of the above has changed.

If for some reason you want to force Vite to re-bundle deps, you can either start the dev server with the --force command line option, or manually delete the node_modules/.vite cache directory.

Browser Cache

Resolved dependency requests are strongly cached with HTTP headers max-age=31536000,immutable to improve page reload performance during dev. Once cached, these requests will never hit the dev server again. They are auto invalidated by the appended version query if a different version is installed (as reflected in your package manager lockfile). If you want to debug your dependencies by making local edits, you can:

  1. Temporarily disable cache via the Network tab of your browser devtools;
  2. Restart Vite dev server with the --force flag to re-bundle the deps;
  3. Reload the page.